Triumph Thy Name is Simplicity

Robinette and I celebrated our thirty-ninth wedding anniversary yesterday. I know that thirty-nine years isn’t all that special, after all, lace is the traditional gift. And many other marriages have existed longer—Jimmy and Rosalynn Carter celebrated their sixty-ninth this year for example. Still from my perspective, thirty-nine is downright amazing.

Think about it, since 1976 so much has changed. The first true Apple personal computer was introduced (the IBM PC didn’t arrive until 1981). Gerald Ford, who had been appointed by Congress to succeed Richard Nixon, was succeeded by Jimmy Carter in January 1977.  Carter, an outsider peanut farmer from Georgia, was elected as a rebuke to the establishment. Sound familiar?  No one had heard of Adele, LED’s, global warming, HIV, or gluten. It was a time of innocence.

We’ve raised a beautiful daughter who’s married to a great guy and raising her own beautiful daughter. Is there any more important purpose to life than procreation? Perhaps there are many, but it’s certainly in the top percentile.

We’ve had a good life together, not perfect mind you. No one has a perfect life after all. Well, maybe Prince William and Kate do, but no one I’ve met does. To recognize the importance of our special day I offered to make dinner.

Some of you may have read my blog post a couple of weeks ago about my Thanksgiving travesty. I’m very pleased to say that yesterday’s culinary endeavor was quite successful, if I do say so, myself, which I do say so.

Pan seared New York steaks seasoned with garlic pepper, baked potatoes with crispy skin and creamy centers, plus lightly cheesed broccoli made up our simple menu. Simplicity was the key to my success.

Steak dinner

A well cooked meal wasn’t enough to recognize our thirty-ninth anniversary, so I gave Robinette a beautiful lace inspired paper-napkin to go with her dinner.


© David P. Cantrell 2015

 

Author: David P. Cantrell

I'm a retired baby-boomer enjoying life.

2 thoughts on “Triumph Thy Name is Simplicity”

Leave a Reply

