An Intelligent Post-Apocalyptic Thriller

PushBack_eBook.jpgI love my wife for many reasons not least of which is her ability to find outstanding indie authors. While I struggle to read one novel between writing and editing for other folks, she’ll read three or four books, maybe more. She has varied interests but is very fond of thrillers and mysteries.

Luckily for me, she introduced me to R. E. McDermott’s Tom Dugan three-book series focused on the world of merchant shipping. I envied his writing skills in all of them. When he decided to branch out into the popular post-apocalypse genre, and I was hesitant.

I’m socially liberal, but to be honest, I’ve had enough of zombies and New Age vampires.

Not to worry. McDermott’s take on the genre is realistic and very human. Who needs to fear zombies when the real world is full of human monsters. The first book in the Destruction series, Under a Tell Tale Sky, was outstanding and I encourage you to buy it while it’s available on Amazon at $0.99.

I had the honor of being an Advanced Review Copy (ARC) reader for Bob McDermott’s second book in the series, Push Back. I think he may have changed a thing or two based on my comments–picture a fat old man tickled with himself. Seriously, McDermott writes good stories. The review I posted on Amazon is presented below. By the way, if you hurry you may be able to get Push Back at $2.99 as an ebook.

The story opens where book one, Under Tell-Tale Sky, ended. McDermott does an excellent job of refreshing the reader’s memory with a Prologue and subtle reminders as each open plotline is addressed. There’s no lack of storylines or characters— George R.R. Martin might be jealous—but I never felt lost. The plotlines are logically connected with only one instance of a coincidental, although reasonable, intersect that occurs in book one.

It’s only been a few weeks since a massive solar storm destroyed the world’s power grid and overwhelmed the disaster plans and resources of the globe’s formal governments. As a result, some smart individuals like, Colonel Hunnicutt in Willington, North Carolina, and Captain Hughes in Port Arthur, Texas, have started to create informal governments for mutual protection. Corrupt Politician’s and bright bad guys are doing the same thing—conflict is inevitable.

McDermott writes an outstanding thriller that’s hard to put down. His research is top notch. I doubt you’ll catch a real writing error. It’s more likely, you’ll find a term used correctly that you hadn’t seen before, which I like. His protagonistic characters have depth and struggle with the morality of their tough choices. His antagonistic characters have few moral qualms but aren’t devoid of reason.

Push Back and its predecessor, Under a Tell Tale Sky, are excellent reads. Do yourself a favor and buy them.

Here’s a link. Don’t dally. It could cost you.

Get the Books

Author: David P. Cantrell

I'm a retired baby-boomer enjoying life.

2 thoughts on “An Intelligent Post-Apocalyptic Thriller”

  1. Dear Dave,
    Thank you for your insights prior to publication and a terrific review. I’d like to say more but I’ve drawn a blank (inside joke). 🙂
    Warmest regards,
    R.E. (Bob) McDermott

    Like

Leave a Reply

